The importance of being social

As I began helping a client, a children’s hospital, manage their Facebook page, I noticed that their page was not set up such that they could interact throughout Facebook as their page. This meant that they could not visit, like or comment on other pages and therefore were undoubtedly missing out on news and valuable connections. With their blessing, I fixed the situation and began interacting with community pages on their behalf.

One day while acting as the page I came across a charity local to them whose mission it is to provide special outings to kids with disabilities. “Perfect.” I thought, and I liked the page. The next day I received a private message from them to my client’s page reading “Thank you for liking our page…” The note went on to ask if there was a wish list of items that they could use to go shopping for the children.  They showed up the following week with games and necessities.

Don’t underestimate the importance of being present and engaging with your online communities. I can’t tell you the number of times my posting schedule has been rearranged because of something I saw in my page’s Newsfeed. There are a lot of good, noteworthy things happening in your community; share the love and it will likely come back to you.Donation

2 Comments

Filed under Healthcare Social Media

2 responses to “The importance of being social

  1. I hadn’t heard this particular story before Kari. Love it!

    It’s called engagement for a reason. Your message that engagement is more than just acknowledging when someone engages on your own page is so important. I’ve seen the impact you’ve had with this with a couple of clients; more hospitals need to be exploring and creating those strategic connections.

Leave a Reply

